NWI Companies Greatly Exceed National Safety Averages

NWI Companies Greatly Exceed National Safety Averages

The Northwest Indiana Business RoundTable (NWIBRT) is pleased to announce that companies from the NWI region are beating national averages for construction safety time and time again. Many regional firms have demonstrated consistent improvement over time, and willingness to go above and beyond when protecting workers.

Recently, 60 regional construction and maintenance-related firms were celebrated at a small awards presentation held by NWIBRT. Normally, the association would hold a banquet with up to 700 guests, but in the interest of safety – which is the mission of the association – this year’s awards ceremony was kept to a minimum size.

“Companies in NWI are sharing, not keeping secrets, when they learn something new about safety,” said Don Bull, NWIBRT Executive Committee chairman and NIPSCO director of outage management and systems engineering. “They’re always improving, and the results keep everyone safer on the job. We’re proud of all of our award recipients and congratulate them.”

A full list of this year’s winning companies and judging criteria is available on the following page. For more information about the association and its members, visit NWIBRT.org.

Total Safety U.S. Inc. earned the Company of the Year award. Pictured is Kaley Kostelnik accepting the award.

Cargill earned the Owner Excellence in Leadership award. Pictured is Rick Foor accepting the award.

K2 Industrial Services earned the Contractor of the Year award. Pictured is Troy Niloff accepting the award.









NWIBRT Safety Award Tiers
  • Recognition Award – Companies that have lower than national industry averages for their:
    • Days Away from Work (DAFW)
    • Days Away, Restricted or Transferred Rate (DART)
    • Total Recordable Incidence Rate (TRIR)
  • Achievement Award – Similar to the Recognition Award, except a company’s rate must be lower than the average of our NWI Regional Contractor community.
  • Excellence Award – Company must have met Achievement Award criteria for the last three years.


2020 NWIBRT Safety Award Winners
(Awards are for work performed in 2019)

Contractor of the Year

  • K2 Industrial Services, Inc.

Company of the Year

  • Total Safety U.S. Inc.

Owner Excellence in Leadership

  • Cargill

Excellence Award

  • ACMS Group, Inc.
  • ATC Group Services LLC
  • Barnhart Crane and Rigging
  • Brock Industrial Services LLC
  • Calumet Lumber
  • Cannon Sline Industrial, Inc.
  • Fluor Constructors International, Inc.
  • Fluor Constructors, Inc.
  • Interstate Environmental Services, Inc.
  • Job Site Safety, LTD
  • K2 Industrial Services, Inc.
  • Luse Thermal Technologies
  • Matrix North America Construction
  • Middough Inc.
  • NA Logan, Inc.
  • Orbital Engineering, Inc.
  • Platinum Specialty Services, Inc.
  • J. Mycka, Inc.
  • Solid Platforms, Inc.
  • Stevenson Crane Service, Inc.
  • The Ross Group, Inc.
  • Total Mill Services, Inc.
  • Total Safety US Inc.
  • Valdes Engineering Company
  • Zachry Engineering Corporation

Achievement Award

  • Correct Mechanical, Inc.
  • DLZ Industrial
  • Falk PLI
  • Graycor Industrial Constructors, Inc.
  • M&O Insulation Co.
  • Meade Industries
  • Meccon Industries Inc.
  • Mersino Dewatering
  • Superior Engineering LLC
  • Tonn and Blank Construction LLC

Recognition Award

  • AMS Mechanical Systems
  • Barton Marlow Company
  • BMWC Constructors Inc.
  • Central Rent A Crane, Inc.
  • Continental Electric Company
  • Emcor Hyre Electric Company of IN.
  • Hasse Construction Company, Inc.
  • Hayes Mechanical
  • Korellis Roofing, Inc.
  • M&O Environmental Co.
  • MJ Electric, LLC IPC Central Region
  • Morrison Construction Co.
  • Rieth-Riley Construction Co., Inc.
  • Sargent Electric Co.
  • Superior Construction
  • The Pangere Corp.
  • Tranco Industrial Services, Inc.
  • Walsh & Kelly Inc.

Lifesaver Award

  • Keith Nixon, QA Technician, ACMS Group, Inc.
Category Business Buzz