Stadium Awarded Anti-Terrorism Designation

Stadium Awarded Anti-Terrorism Designation

Lucas Oil Stadium, a facility of the Capital Improvement Board of Managers of Marion County (CIB), has received the Developmental Testing and Evaluation Designation from the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) in recognition of its safety and security program.

To receive the designation, Lucas Oil Stadium had to meet specific DHS security technology standards, known as Qualified Anti-Terrorism Technologies (QATT), necessary for immediate deployment in the event of an act of terrorism or breach of information security. The designation is provided under the Support Anti-Terrorism by Fostering Effective Technologies (SAFETY) Act enacted by Congress in the aftermath of the 9/11 attacks.

Lucas Oil Stadium’s multi-level security system, including physical and electronic security equipment, screening tools, emergency planning and evacuation procedures, and trained personnel, is designed both to deter and prevent threats as well as to react immediately in a crisis.

“While Lucas Oil Stadium is well equipped to respond to an act of terrorism, our first priority is to ensure we have the necessary security and resources in place to minimize the risk of harm should there be an incident,” said Andy Mallon, CIB executive director. “Starting with the electronic screenings at the entrances, our stadium team works diligently to keep attendees, players, and staff safe so they can enjoy their event. But rest assured, should there be an incident, our team is ready and equipped to respond.”

In addition to maintaining the required security standards, the CIB will increase the amount of excess liability insurance it carries to meet the amount specified by DHS, from $56 million to $106 million. The board approved this increase today.

Lucas Oil Stadium is one of only 800 recipients to receive a SAFETY Act designation or certification since 2002, and one of only 12 stadium venues. Other stadiums include:

  • Arrowhead Stadium – Kansas City
  • Bills Stadium – Buffalo
  • FirstEnergy Stadium – Cleveland
  • Hard Rock Stadium – Miami
  • Levi’s Stadium – Santa Clara
  • Lincoln Financial Field – Philadelphia
  • M&T Bank Stadium – Baltimore
  • Mercedes Benz Stadium – Atlanta
  • Nissan Stadium – Nashville
  • Soldier Field – Chicago
  • US Bank Stadium – Minneapolis

The designation for Lucas Oil Stadium runs through March 31, 2023. For more information on the SAFETY Act designations, visit

Category Business Buzz